Continuous feedback is a key feature of the Performance area in Personio. With this feature, all employees in your organization can send and request feedback at any time, even outside of performance review cycles.
Continuous feedback helps foster collaboration, improve employee recognition, and drive employee growth through constant communication.
Before you start
Review feature visibility. Make sure to activate both Continuous feedback and Praise to make them available to employees.
Set feedback confidentiality. Decide whether the name of the feedback provider is visible to the person receiving the continuous feedback.
Check the relevant access rights. When giving or requesting feedback, you can select an employee only if you have viewing rights for their public profile.
Give feedback or praise
Give general feedback
To provide feedback for an employee, follow these steps:
- Go to Performance. On the upper right, click Give feedback.
- Select General. Under Who's the feedback for?, search for and select the employee you want to give feedback to in the dropdown menu. Click Continue.
- The feedback draft page opens. On the left, under Feedback form, you can select the appropriate form to help you structure your feedback.
- Write your feedback.
- You now have three options:
- Send the feedback. Click Share with. Decide who to share it with and whether to show your name or not (if the option is enabled). Once you send the feedback, it can’t be edited.
- Continue at a later stage. Personio saves your drafts automatically under Your performance > Drafts.
- Discard your draft. Click Discard draft on the upper right and confirm your choice.
Once you send the feedback, the recipient sees it in Performance > Your Performance. They also receive an email and inbox notification containing a link to the feedback.
Give praise
You can give quick, specific praise to your teammates via Continuous Feedback and see it display on Personio's homepage Celebrations feed.
To do so, follow these steps:
- Go to Performance. On the upper right, click Give feedback.
- Select Praise.
- Select the employee you want to praise. Click Continue.
- Write your feedback.
- Click Share with.
- Select who to share the feedback with:
▶︎Everyone in your organization.
▶︎The receiver and their supervisor.
▶︎The receiver only. The feedback appears on everyone’s home page under Celebration for 14 days. After that, it remains visible in the recipient's performance profile and only an Administrator can delete it. - Click Share.
Tip:
The recipient cannot review or discard your sharing preference. Double-check with them before sharing praise across your organization.
Request feedback
Note that feedback administrators can hide this feature under Performance > Manage > Feature visibility.
Every employee with access to this feature can request feedback about themselves from a colleague. If you’re an administrator or have feedback edit rights, you can also request feedback about other employees. Follow these steps:
- Go to Performance.
- On the upper right, click Request Feedback.
- Under Who’s the feedback about?, select the employee that receives the feedback.
- Under Who do you want to receive feedback from?, search for and select the employees you want to request feedback from.
- Under What do you want to request feedback about?, detail the specific topics or questions you'd like the feedback to focus on.
- Click Request feedback.
The feedback request automatically appears in the respective employee's Task tab and inbox.
Cancel or decline a feedback request
To cancel a sent feedback request, follow these steps:
- Go to Performance > Your performance.
- Under Reviews and feedback, select click Requests sent.
- On the relevant request, click the three-dots icon and select Cancel request.
- Confirm your choice.
To decline a feedback request, follow these steps:
- Go to Performance > Your performance.
- Under Reviews and feedback, select click Requests received.
- Click the three dots on the relevant request and select Decline request.
- Confirm your choice.
Declining a continuous feedback request removes it. If you change your mind, ask the requester to send it again.
Delete feedback or praise
Note:
Only Administrators and employees with edit rights for continuous feedback and performance notes have access to this functionality.
To delete feedback, follow these steps:
- Go to Performance > Team performance.
- Click the relevant employee.
- The employee feedback overview page opens. Click the feedback you want to delete. This applies to shared praise as well.
- The feedback details page opens. On the upper right, click the three dots icon and select Delete.
- Confirm your choice.
Export feedback
To export your continuous feedback, follow these steps:
- Go to Performance > Your performance.
- Click the relevant feedback or praise.
- Click the Export icon.
- Select the type of export (download as PDF, or save in your documents).
- Optional: Add your legal name.
- Export the feedback.
Next steps
Learn to access and complete your reviews..